Japan’s Regions

Japan is an island country mainly consisting of four large islands: Honshu (the main island), Kyushu, Shikoku, and Hokkaido. The total area of Japan is approximately 380,000 square kilometers, which is roughly equivalent to that of Germany or the State of California. And more than 120 million people live in the country.

Location of Japan

Japan is divided into 47 “prefectures” for administrative purposes. But when we want to get a whole picture of Japan easily, studying it prefecture by prefecture is a rather tiresome and time-consuming job. That is why we sometimes combine several nearby prefectures into large “Regions.”

The Japan’s northernmost region is Hokkaido, where the summer is “generally” cool and the winter is long and cold. It is blessed with a large land area and relatively pristine nature, offering rich habitats for a variety of wild animals, including Yezo shika deer, Hokkaido red squirrels, and brown bears. The Tohoku Region boasts of large-scale rice cultivation, producing almost a quarter of the rice harvest in Japan. Fruit growing also thrives in Tohoku, and Aomori Prefecture is known as the country’s No.1 apple producer.

With Tokyo as its hub, the Kanto Region plays a central role in Japan in various fields, including politics, economy, culture, and transportation. And about one-third of the country’s population lives in this region. The Chubu Region has three very tall mountain ranges in its central part; they are collectively called the “Roofs of Japan,” with some of the peaks exceeding 3,000m. Chubu also includes Mt. Fuji, the highest mountain in Japan, on its southeast edge and Nagoya, the region’s biggest city, on its southwest edge.

Roughly speaking, the Kinki Region has two faces, old and new. Kyoto and Nara are the prefectures that have long, ancient histories, while Osaka has many modern high-rise buildings and large-scale amusement facilities like Universal Studios Japan. Besides the historical structures in Kyoto and Nara, Kinki has many tourists spots, including Lake Biwa, Osaka Castle, and Himeji Castle, among others. The Chugoku-Shikoku Region mainly consists of its two parts: Chugoku, which is the western part of Honshu, and Shikoku, the smallest of the four large islands of Japan. Sandwiched between these two lands are the calm waters of the beautiful Seto Inland Sea.

Thanks to the influence of two warm ocean currents, Kuroshio and Tsushima, Kyushu has a relatively warm climate, and its waters are good for fishing. A couple of very active volcanoes are located here, including Mt. Aso, Mt. Sakurajima, and Mt. Unzen. Okinawa Prefecture also belongs to the Kyushu Region, although this sub-tropical inland chain is considerably far from the main island of Kyushu.

Photographs: properties of Unfamiliar Japan Tours.com

UJT banner

off the beaten path in Japan

300 × 200